Thursday, March 8, 2012

{color block clutch diy}

Hey Friends!!
Today I want to share my latest project for spring 2012!  This is my first, but definitely wont be my last clutch project.
  •  Clutch. This is fun part. I found mine at Goodwill for $2.99. I prefer vintage and cheap!!
  • Sponge brushes
  •  Acrylic Paints

Since my clutch was a patent material, I wanted a base coat to be sure my color layers would be smooth.  I first put 2 layers of the off white 'Ceramcoat'. I let it dry. (this paint dries fast) Then I put about 4 layers of my base (khaki). I wasn't too concerned with the bottom line being perfect since it would eventually be covered with an overlap with my 'pop of color'.
 Once fully dried, pick your color and finish the bottom!  (I did the same, about 4 coats of this bright peach) I suggest pastels and neon's..they are HOTT!
And here is the finished product....



Have fun and Happy Spring :)
xxoo

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

There's an app for that

OK..How in the world did my Grandmother function as a parent, without an i phone, with 6 children??  Life was 'simpler' but I don't believe it was any easier.  So that makes me think: 'it is easier now bc I have a device that gives me instant answers/feedback?'  Well with my current faves I think so!

      PANDORA
 I'm all about saving the radio for the sake of jobs. However, I LOVE Pandora because it is commercial free and I can choose the stations by artist or genre.  I can also customize it by skipping a song I'm not in the mood for or 'thumbs downing' an artist! Permanently!!  Thank GOD for this, Niki Minaj and Gaga have got to go!

INSTAGRAM
This is my favorite social networking site!!  It's mostly positive, creative, and puts a smile on my face!
 I think my favorite thing about Facebook is watching other children grow, sharing Cains pictures, and most of all seeing people happy!!  Instagram is JUST THAT!!  You upload your picture, pick an editing option, and post!!  Voila! A news feed of pictures!!
(Do what you want, but I suggest not uploading every pic in your photo library...your child or dog is cute...but every pose to get in the pool is unnecessary!!)

LIVING SOCIAL

Both of these apps have great deals on local/nearby businesses!!  You purchase the 'coupon' for nearly 65% off (some higher, some lower) and it's usually ready for use by the next day!!  I have purchased things from laser hair removal to pedicures to car washes, oil changes, etc!!  GET IT NOW!  Both apps offer destination bargains as well. Just be sure to check fine print and expiration's before committing!

This is a new app for me and I have yet to try it!!  But it gives you great deals at your favorite stores just for walking in the door!!  You can also earn a butt load of rewards!

 This is a great app for someone like me who for one, has no sense of direction and for two, I love to try new things!! Urbanspoon has been super handy especially when we travel and are looking for a certain genre of food, directions, reviews, even just a restaurant close by and still open!!

This app has been awesome to get me out of my 'same week dinner schedule rut.' I am not a chef, I'm actually a terrible cook and that is the excuse for why we eat the same thing over and over...I've mastered those!  This app has an easy menu for some pretty tasty dishes!  All you have to do is plan your menu for the week by selecting different dishes and then the app puts together a shopping list for you!!  It will even link up to your local supermarket and tell you what is on sale!! Yah, I know what you're thinking...  :)

I really wish I would have found this app sooner!!  This app links up to your location and you can find a nearby 'Diaper deck', 'Food', 'Play areas', and 'Medical.'  This is really handy on long road trips, new towns, and even discovering your own town.  
So...How many times have you gone to CVS and forgotten your rewards card? If you're like me, you probably have over 20 accounts to that store by now! Most stores have a club card, frequent shopper, rewards, etc.  Empty out your bulky wallet and download this app! I now have my account numbers and bar codes for all on my phone!  Lord knows, I never leave my phone anywhere!!  
 
Honorable mentions: Pinterest, Youtube, Paypal, Ebay, Caloriecounter, Etsy, yelp, Photo Collage, E!, Foxnews

Look for my toddler edition 'there's an app for that' soon!!
Have a great day!
xxoo

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Saturdays....lately

We are not the type of family that watches football unless it's the Super Bowl.  We have been to an NBA All Star game (4 years ago and I definitely fell asleep in the middle of it) but we haven't seen a game since! We don't have patience for 10 innings of baseball.  I am NOT saying that these sports aren't exciting or aren't important. I'm just saying 'It's not our thing'. 
Motocross seems to be the sport of choice.  My husband practiced and raced since he was a tot.  It later turned into freestyle/ Evil Knievel and I'm sure you could predict the ending in that story! Yup...he had a major injury in which he retired at 18.
So now we live in the motocross center of the country and we love it.  It only took me 4 years to accept that this beach babe was permanently located in the woods.  I will get more into our story, his injury, and where we live later on.
So THE Supercross season starts on the West Coast every year in January!! 
For beginners let me break it down....

mo·to·cross [moh-toh-kraws, -kros] noun

a timed motorcycle race over a closed course consisting of a winding dirt trail with hills, jumps, sharp turns, and often muddy terrain.
Usually OUTDOORS and the long season is in the summer to early fall months.

su·per·cross noun \ˈsü-pər-ˌkrs

a motorcycle race held in a stadium on a dirt track having hairpin turns and high jumps 
So...if you ask me, Supercross is where it's at!! The season lasts from January to May.  The night Cain was born was literally the opening night of the 2010 SX season...and the nurses, the doctor, and I all waited for the boys to finish watching the race before we got the go ahead to push!  Aha...I'll save that for a later post too!
So, last weekend was the closest and BEST Supercross of the season, Atlanta.  We usually have all of our friends there and it's just a really fun weekend!!  I will totally take a weekend getaway anytime, anywhere! 

Here are some fun pics and footage from last weekend...
 After a long day, long car ride...ready to go eat!!
 Me and my best friend since I was 15!!
{Outfit; Cape: TjMaxx, Chevron dress: eBay, Shoes: Jessica Simpson}
My FAB shoes
Here is where we ate... Two Urban Licks ONE of the BEST in Atlanta!
Our Aussie friend who tagged along but came by taxi, by himself, thought he was "getting taken'... This is too funny because Two Urban Licks is located in an alley in a creepy revamped warehouse!!  Good Story.
The atmosphere is fabulously romantic with gigantic silk poppy's, floating fabric lanterns, intimate mural covered in candles lit from the floor to the ceiling. The kitchen is located in the center of Two Urban with a wrap around bar for seating.
The food is a 'fiery American cuisine' including fresh seafood, steaks, to die for empenadas and so on.
The bar is fully stocked including infused drinks that are on display above the bar. They have 42 'Wine Kegs'...all on display and for your tasting pleasure!
CHECK. THEM. OUT!!

Here are a few pics from Atlanta Supercross 2012...


Opening Ceremonies = Laser Lights, Fire, Fireworks. 
National Anthem
The track
Our Homies...
 Me and My LOVER
Fire works
As we have been told by our friend/previous coach from the Atlanta Falcons on his home field.... 'He has NEVER seen a production and such an awesome event'  That's worth telling people!!  If you ever get a chance GO!!

That's all for now...
xxoo

Monday, February 20, 2012

Politics on Presidents Day!


Sure...why not?!?
I NEVER get political and I am hardly as knowledgeable (so don't judge) as I should be this close to the Primary. For several reasons:
  • I hate hurting peoples feelings: Politics become really touchy...because guess what?!?  ...WE ALL have an opinion. 
  • Morals: Some of us have them, and some don't.  I stand FIRM in my beliefs. I don't proclaim to be perfect (because you aren't either), but now that I'm a mother, my beliefs don't effect just me.
  • I can't believe ANY of the media hub-bub aka 'blah-blah' and I'm not just talking 'FOX news' (even though that is my 'go-to' for happenings). 
  • I don't know who to vote for, yet I know who NOT to vote for.
{So now this is the part where I tell you what you already have assumed about me: yes I am a Conservative, righty, Republican and I prefer red over blue.  But what you don't know is that Heck yes I'm open for CHANGE.  I AM HOPEFUL.  And I'm not mad at you for voting for Obama.}

Today should be a day of thanks.  Thanks to all of the Presidents Past and Present for your service in leading our country.  I wouldn't want that job. 
So, this wont be your only and last reminder, get EDUCATED, get REGISTERED and go VOTE in NOVEMBER!! 

Thanks for stoppin... I'd love to know what sites you trust and get your info on the 2012 candidates!

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

{black and gold}

After a year of battling a final decision, I have decided to go with BLACK and GOLD (white too) for our master bedroom.  I am loving gold (for now anyways) and it brings a real elegant and 'fresh' ambiance.  I've been wanting to share just a couple recent 'diy' decor ideas with you.
I will apologize for not taking before pics...but this isn't too technical, you'll live.
One of my most recent yard sale finds was an old thick frame.  It was brown with hints of gold/bronze 'puke spots'..really unattractive.  Seriously, I had to fight my husband to get it home :)  I tore off the paper backing, removed the picture and glass.  It was already a dull surface and I don't mind texture so I just spray painted it metallic gold.  And that's it! Here is a closeup:
Note: Goodwill usually over charges on frames.  Yard sailing is the way to go.  Best thing when looking for a frame is TEXTURE!!  But really, anything will look good.

For the rosette ribbon strand I found it at Hobby Lobby.  I could have made this myself, but I wanted to spare my time on this one.  For this frame it took a little over a yard.  I hot glued the rosette strand ends to the back and voila! 



Next was our monogram.  Classy. Personal. Pretty. So, I mentioned my love for yarn in an earlier post.  It really is true :)  I bought the block letters at Joann Fabrics.  There really are endless possibilities with these.  It's hard to see in detail, but I started hot gluing yarn in spots that were necessary.  (Just wrapping yarn doesn't work when you get to the inside of letters, curves, edges and middles).  This was easy yet a little tricky because I didn't want them to look messy. 


For the 'F', I went with a bigger letter size and just spray painted it.
(this metallic spray paint is amazing)

The End....
Cost Summary:
Frame: $3
Spray Paint: $5
Rosettes: $8
LettersX3: $6
Yarn: $3 (I already had)
Hot glue gun/glue: $8 (already had)
TOTAL: $22
(keep in mind, I hardly used any spray paint...so I still have left over.  Also left over rosettes)

 Here is a finished product of my FREE project that coincides.  
The frame above is suitable for lighter bracelets and necklaces, but mostly earrings.  This is my Ring Tree.  Which also houses my heavier bangles and necklaces :)
Not the best picture.  However, it still shows my point.  The bottle was a recycled liquor bottle that I saved.  I yarn wrapped it with hot glue.  Picked some branches in my yard, spray painted the GOLD, and now I'm in love!  I have this tree that grew twirly vines/ branches.  They are pretty thick but they are a little flimsy.  Anyways...this works great for all of my rings and things :)


I hope I've inspired you to find some sort of project to start AND finish :)
Have a great day!

Sunday, February 5, 2012

SUPER day!

With last Saturday being a day for just Cain and I, He went out with Daddy yesterday and Ryder to a 'mud bog'.
Now, I have no idea what that's like because I have NEVER been to one (and that is quite alright)..but it sounds like they had a good time.  Funny, Cains obsession is cars, trucks, quads, bikes, tractors, etc...  That just might be his thing! :)
So that means I had a day to myself!!  A WHOLE day!!  At first I didnt even know where to begin... I had several ideas of things that I wanted to do yet I chose based on things Cain severely dislikes!!  SHOPPING!
No, I didnt go crazy..it was just nice to be able to take my time and browse (something I rarely get to do).
I also got the chance to catch up with a couple girls that I haven't seen in 5 years?!  What a treat! 
Then it was an hour and a half of cardio!!  (Cain for sure would have broken out of child care if he was in for that long).  All in all, it was great to have a day to myself.  I could totally get used to every other weekend doing something on a Saturday one on one with our BOY!
 This was the awesome sunset in Tallahassee to end my ME day!

As for today...I will catch you up on my bandwagon of February pics!!  (If you don't have the instagram app, you are totally missing out on all of the possibilities of editing your photos.  EASY.  and sharing them with your friends).
{2.2-Words} Phl. 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Amen!  Definitely one of my favorite bible verses!! This is so fitting for me and my new year goals.  How does this fit into your personal life?


{2.3-Hands} 'Mr. President, YOU my dear, got punked' lol...  I will be saving my political stance for a later date :)
 
 {2.4-Stranger} Yes, I was creeping at the gym on a Saturday!  Can't help but feel like a weirdo taking a picture of a stranger.  Not gonna lie, I'd be weirded out!!  But mad props to THIS GUY for being the only other person getting it done!!  Love it!

I will leave on that note... Time to hang out with my two favorite boys!!  Big day of Supercross and Superbowl!!  Go Patriots!!  WOO :)


Thursday, February 2, 2012

#febpicaday1

So...I decided to jump on this wagon:
So here it is...{my view}
It was 'gloomy' yesterday....perfect for a snuggle-sesh!  This is my view from our home. While it's not the sparkles off the emerald waters on the Gulf on a perfectly sunny day, this is almost as peaceful.  I may hear a car drive by (about once or twice in the hour), but the sounds of this landscape are refreshing! 
Note: Days after the rain aren't so quiet!!  But the buzzing of the dirt bikes are what makes this home special to us.

Happy Groundhog day!!  Word on the street is a later winter is in store...I guess we shall see!

Good day friends!